Australian coach Justin Langer has confirmed the starting XI for the 1st Test against Pakistan at the Gabba starting on Thursday. After bringing home the Ashes urn for the first time in 18 years, the Aussie will be looking to maintain their great record in Brisbane.

The former Test opener, who is also a selector, announced that Cameron Bancroft and Michael Neser won’t make the XI, paving the way for Joe Burns to return to the top of the order partnering David Warner.

With James Pattinson suspended from the 1st Test after making an “alleged homophobic slur” in a recent Sheffield Shield match against Queensland the team for 1st Test is all but settled.

Australian XI

The Australian team for the first Test against Pakistan at the Gabba.

  1. David Warner
  2. Joe Burns
  3. Marnus Labuschagne
  4. Steve Smith
  5. Travis Head
  6. Matthew Wade
  7. Tim Paine
  8. Pat Cummins
  9. Mitchell Starc
  10. Nathan Lyon
  11. Josh Hazlewood

Joe Burns came into the Australian squad at the expense of young opener Marcus Harris who scored just 58 runs in three Ashes Test matches and like David Warner, struggled in English conditions.

Since returning home, Harris has been in good form for Victoria in the Marsh Cup and Sheffield Shield, including scoring a First Class century against South Australia. Burns has been solid for Queensland but is without a ton so far this season.

The impressive form of Marnus Labuschagne since making his debut in the Ashes has also forced Usman Khawaja out of the side. He’ll likely line-up at number three, a spot he made his own in the tough English conditions.