Paine elects to bat

Australian skipper Tim Paine has won the toss and elected to bat in the 1st Ashes Test at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

It should be a riveting opening session with a few clouds around which may provide some movement for the bowlers.

Australia haven’t won an Ashes series in England since 2001, so will be keen to get off to a good start.

Paine announced at the toss that veteran Peter Siddle will play ahead of Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood.

Cameron Bancroft, David Warner and Steve Smith all return to the side after the infamous sandpaper scandal back in March of 2018.

Matthew Wade‘s form has finally paid off as he slots back into the side while James Pattinson returns from a long stint out of the side after battling injuries. It will be the Victorian’s first Test since February 2016.

Australian XI

Australia’s XI for the 1st Test:

  • David Warner
  • Cameron Bancroft
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Steve Smith
  • Travis Head
  • Matthew Wade
  • Tim Paine (c/wk)
  • James Pattinson
  • Pat Cummins
  • Peter Siddle
  • Nathan Lyon