England has named their team for the first Ashes Test at Edgbaston starting tonight in Birmingham.

Skipper Joe Root confirmed the side on Wednesday night, cutting just three from the initial 14-main squad.

All-rounder Sam Curren and quicks Joffra Archer and Olly Stone were left out, with the home side electing to go with the experienced veteran Jimmy Anderson.

The first test starts tonight at 8PM (AEST), as England look to continue their unbeaten home Ashes streak. Australia haven’t won a series in England since 2001.

England Team

England team for first Ashes Test:

Rory Burns
Jason Roy
Joe Root (c)
Joe Denly
Jos Buttler
Ben Stokes
Jonny Bairstow
Moeen Ali
Chris Woakes
Stuart Broad
James Anderson