The Australian selectors have announced a 14-man squad for the Domain Test series against Pakistan starting at the Gabba next Thursday.

After bringing home the Ashes on the back of an incredible performance from Steve Smith, there as been plenty of debate about the rest of the batting line-up that were very hit and miss on English soil.

The Squad

The Australian Test squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan is as follows:

  1. David Warner
  2. Joe Burns
  3. Marnus Labuschagne
  4. Steve Smith
  5. Travis Head
  6. Matthew Wade
  7. Cameron Bancroft
  8. Tim Paine (c)
  9. Mitchell Starc
  10. Pat Cummins
  11. Nathan Lyon
  12. Josh Hazlewood
  13. James Pattinson
  14. Michael Neser

As was revealed this morning, young Victorian batsman Will Pucovski ruled himself out of contention as he attempts to focus on his mental health. This comes after teammates Nic Maddinson and Glenn Maxwell recently announced they would temporarily step away from cricket with mental health issues.

After struggling in England Usman Khawaja has been left out of the side while opener Marcus Harris misses out despite decent Sheffield Shield form.