Squad Announcment

After months of discussion and deliberation, Australia’s Test squad for the upcoming Ashes series has finally been announced by chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns.

The 1st Test of the series starts next Thursday 1st August at 8pm. Find out where you can watch the whole 2019 Ashes series here.

Despite picking up a hamstring injury in the 2019 World Cup, Usman Khawaja has recovered in time for Ashes selection and is expected to be fit for the 1st Test at Edgbaston.

Queensland Michael Neser is a surprise selection with the 29-year-old yet to play a Test for Australia. The all-rounder took 33 wickets in the previous Sheffield Shield season at 23.03 but also averaged a handy 43.72 with the bat. 

Australian Squad

The 17-man squad is as follows:

  • Tim Paine (c)
  • Cameron Bancroft
  • Pat Cummins
  • Marcus Harris
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Travis Head
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Michael Neser
  • James Pattinson
  • Peter Siddle
  • Steven Smith
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Matthew Wade
  • David Warner

Exciting Series

The series is set to be a cracker with England fresh off a World Cup win, while the Aussies will be keen to get the first Ashes win in England since 2001.

The Aussies currently hold the little urn after a dominant 4-0 win in the last Ashes series on home soil, however the narrowly lost 3-2 on the last visit to England back in 2015.

The visitors welcome back David Warner, Cameron Bancroft and Steve Smith who return to the Test squad for the first time since the notorious ball tampering that rocked Australian cricket back in March 2018.

England are set to name their squad for the upcoming series this weekend.