The 2019/20 Australian cricket summer will kick off with the fast pace action of Twenty20 cricket as Sri Lanka and Pakistan visit the Australian shores for six matches throughout October and November.

Australia have selected their squad for the back-to-back series commencing on Sunday 27th October at the Adelaide Oval, with a few surprising omissions.

The Squad

The Australian squad for the upcoming Twenty20 series in Australia is:

  • Aaron Finch (c)
  • Ashton Agar
  • Alex Carey
  • Pat Cummins
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Ben McDermott
  • Kane Richardson
  • Steve Smith
  • Billy Stanlake
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Ashton Turner
  • Andrew Tye
  • David Warner
  • Adam Zampa

All-rounder Marcus Stoinis failed to make the squad after an average ODI World Cup in England while the big hitting Chris Lynn has also been left out. Spinners Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa have been preferred to Test regular Nathan Lyon.

Ashes superstar Steve Smith will play his first international T20 in over 3 and half years as he returns to the squad, while teammate David Warner who had a torrid time in England has also been selected. With the T20 World Cup to be played in Australia in just over 12 months time the series will be a good measuring stick for the selectors as will the upcoming Big Bash series starting in December.

The Schedule

Date Local Time Opposition Venue Broadcast
Sun 27th October 2019 2:00pm Sri Lanka Adelaide Oval Foxtel & Kayo
Wed 30th October 2019 6:10pm Sri Lanka Gabba Foxtel & Kayo
Fri 1st November 2019 7:10pm Sri Lanka MCG Foxtel & Kayo
Sun 3rd November 2019 2:30pm Pakistan SCG Foxtel & Kayo
Tue 5th November 2019 7:10pm Pakistan Manuka Oval Foxtel & Kayo
Fri 8th November 2019 4:30pm Pakistan Optus Stadium Foxtel & Kayo